Every Day There Can Be Hummus

There’s one thing that goes into my lunch bag without fail every day, and that’s hummus. It’s my bread and butter, and I don’t get tired of it. The reason why is, it’s easy to make in a variety of flavors. I personally enjoy the colorful versions of hummus best: purple beet root hummus, bright orange red lentil hummus, and even a lime green version, like the one I made today, with frozen peas.

Here’s how I made a Garden Herb Pea Hummus:

IMG_0198

It all starts with a bag of frozen organic peas cooked to package directions.

IMG_0199

I added fresh garden kale, parsley, cilantro, and lovage to this batch of hummus.

IMG_0197

Everything green, plus a clove of garlic, went in the blender.

IMG_0196

Then, I blended in 1/3 cup of walnuts, 1/4 cup of hemp hearts, and lemon juice.

IMG_0195

At this smooth and creamy stage, I added about 3 tbs of olive oil, lots of cayenne pepper, salt, pepper, and the tiniest pinch of cinnamon.

IMG_0194

The real trick happens at the end: I packaged the fresh hummus in small jars right away, one for each day of the work week. I chose five jars that fit very well in my lunch bag.

Leave a Reply

