Kumquat Gold

Kumquats are in season in Southern California. I got my second bag of them this week in my CSA.

To combat the bitter flavor in the kumquats I received this week, I decided to make a “jam” out of dates and kumquats. I stuck to raw food techniques for this recipe, which means it is easy and quick.

So far, the jam has been great on oatmeal, and I plan to pack it in my lunches as a spread to pair with crackers and goat cheese brie.

It’s so simple to make, and it will store for about a week in the fridge.

Kumquat for Blog

When I say “no processing” underneath the title, I mean the canning term: no hot-water-bath processing. This is just a quick throw-everything-together recipe.

DSC_0090

These are the secondary ingredients: a bit of sugar to help blend the dates and kumquats together and some cinnamon and vanilla for added sweetness and depth of flavor.

DSC_0089

This is the base of the recipe: kumquats and dates.

Leave a Reply

