Yup, Pudding Cups for Mother’s Day!

In 2012, I picked up a great book: Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr. It is an encyclopedia of food information, one that I pored through over and over again. I decided to catch up with this old friend today, and when I pulled it off the shelf, I found myself in the recipe section looking at a forgotten recipe for avocado-based chocolate pudding.

What luck that I had farm-fresh avocados from my CSA box this week! So, I immediately decided to make pudding cups for this week’s lunches.

This pudding was also a great thing to cook on Mother’s Day because my mother-in-law got me started on this recipe when she made them for a ladies-only poker night. This creamy vegan pudding has been a hit ever since.

DSC_0330

DSC_0353 A page in Kris Carr’s book featuring the Chocomole recipe and my freshly made “snack packs.”

An Iteration of Kris Carr’s Chocomole (Avocado Chocolate Pudding):

Makes 5 pudding cups, stored in mini mason jars.

  • 1 avocado
  • 1 banana (her recipe calls for dates, but I didn’t have any and substituted a banana)
  • 2 heaping tbs of cacao powder, cocoa powder, or carob powder
  • 1 tsp of honey
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup water
DSC_0333

Amazing pudding made with avocado, banana, honey, water, vanilla, and cacao powder.

Directions:

  1. Put all of the ingredients into the food processor. Process for 30 seconds. Scrape down the sides, and process again for 30 seconds.
  2. Taste the pudding. Does it need anything? More sweetness? More chocolate?
  3. Using a spatula, spoon the pudding into mini mason jars. Seal the jars with lids, and immediately put into the fridge. These will keep well for about two days.
  4. Prepare some toppings: toasted coconut, chopped pistachios, pecans toasted with cayenne pepper…you name it. The day that you pack the pudding, open up the jars and sprinkle the toppings on top of the pudding.
DSC_0374

Chocolate pudding with toasted coconut.

DSC_0375

Chocolate pudding with chopped pistachios.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

