For the Adventure

This was my assortment of trail food for a day spent outside in nature: a tin of hummus and veggies (light, but filling), an apple and almonds (my accessible snack), and cold-brew black tea (a gentle caffeine energy boost).

Image

This compact kit of food slipped right into my daypack (I packed the tea in a camelback, not glass bottle). I like being outside with wrapper- and plastic-free snacks. I plan to be garbage free when I hike in, so I won’t have to carry trash as I pack out.

ImageThe carrot sticks were good utensils for scooping little bites of tomato and hummus.

ImageThis Lunchskin reusable bag is one of my favorite lunch-packing tools. I have had it for a couple of years. The food-safe fabric is really durable and dishwasher safe. For holiday gifts a few years ago, I bought some for friends and family and used them as “wrapping paper” for my homemade stocking stuffers.

Image

There’s nothing like a cold brew in a camelback! This fruity black tea steeped overnight in the refrigerator. The morning of my hike, I poured it into my camelback, along with another quart of water. It was delicious on the trail.

2 comments

  1. Sounds like a great way to eat some good food, avoid carrying rubbish and save some money, as well. That black tea sounds great, too, and I’ll have to think about carrying some myself.

    I always find it difficult to find the time to pack my own lunch, but I’m trying to shuffle around when I wake up and when I work so that I don’t have to rush out of the house in the morning anymore.

  2. Thank you! Yes, I love to plan ahead to save money and do things I love in a greener way :-).

Leave a Reply

